Located on the second floor of the Allen Memorial Medical Library, the Millikin Room was renovated in 1999- 2000, through generous donation from Thomas F. Peterson. The purpose of this renovation was to provide an installation of a substantial microscope collection. In 2008, the Kassen family donated an additional gift of a display cabinet on microscopy that presents 19th century microscope slide preparation. The result is a brilliant room with dramatic lighting and ambiance–as well as feature space for microscopes dating from 1715. On a day to day basis, the room serves as a quiet reading room as well as a place to reflect on the remarkable changes–as well as enduring standards–of microscopy. Additional microscopes are on display in cases on the third floor, where the Dittrick Museum resides.