International Studies

Navigation + Search
Home / Faculty with International Interests

Faculty with International Interests

These professors have international research and teaching interests and are based in various departments and schools at the university.   The list of faculty members is divided by regions of the world and a transregional category. Many individuals also have topical interests, which are included at the end of each entry. To read the faculty member’s webpage, click on his or her name.

This information is provided to help majors search for courses and seek expert advice on research projects, study abroad institutions, and employment and volunteer opportunities. For guidance about the International Studies major, students should work with the director of International Studies.

Before contacting a professor, majors are encouraged to gather and review relevant information (e.g. study abroad programs in a country of interest), read the professor’s web page, and prepare specific questions.

Region

Name

Department

Topics

Email

Africa

Beall, Cynthia Anthropology Biological Anthropology cynthia.beall@case.edu
McGrath, Janet Anthropology Medical Anthropology, HIV/AIDS janet.mcgrath@case.edu
Simpson, Scott Anatomy Human Evolution, Paleontology scott.simpson@case.edu
Sadowsky, Jonathan History Medicine jonathan.sadowsky@case.edu 
Doho, Gilbert Modern Languages and Literatures Theater, Film, Postcolonial Studies gilbert.doho@case.edu
Toman, Cheryl Modern Languages and Literatures Gender cheryl.toman@case.edu
Dent, Arlene Pediatrics Kenya, Malaria Immunology arlene.dent@case.edu
Hengehold, Laura Philosophy Gender, Politics laura.hengehold@case.edu
Posner, Elliot Political Science Governance of International Markets, International Cooperation, International Institutions, Financial Regulation eap26@case.edu

Asia

Beall, Cynthia Anthropology Biological Anthropology cynthia.beall@case.edu
Goldstein, Melvyn Anthropology China/Tibet, Family, Marriage, Aging, Economic Development, Modern History and Politics melvyn.goldstein@case.edu
Hildebrand, Vanessa Anthropology Southeast Asia, Global Health, Reproductive Health, Gender, Medical Anthropology, Science and Technology Studies vanessa.hildebrand@case.edu
Shaffer, Jim Anthropology South Asia, Archaeology jim.shaffer@case.edu
Shi, Lihong Anthropology Reproduction, Family, Gender, Medical Anthropology lihong.shi@case.edu
Giuffrida, Noelle Art History Art, Religion noelle.giuffrida@case.edu
Dasgupta, Ananya History South Asia (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh), Colonialism, Nationalism, Religion, Gender ananya.dasgupta@case.edu 
Webster, Timothy Law School Asian Legal Studies, International Trade and Human Rights timothy.j.webster@case.edu
Ehrlich, Linda Modern Languages and Literatures Theater, Film linda.ehrlich@case.edu
Fitzgerald, Margaret Modern Languages and Literatures Japanese Language, Japanese Culture margaret.fitzgerald@case.edu
Gong, Haomin Modern Languages and Literatures Chinese Literature and Cinema, Chinese Language haomin.gong@case.edu
Hagiwara, Takao Modern Languages and Literatures Gender, Race, Religion, Comparative Literature, U.S.-Japan Relations takao.hagiwara@case.edu
McMann, Kelly Political Science Democratization, Corruption, Local Politics kelly.mcmann@case.edu
Schroeder, Paul Political Science International Trade, Environment paul.schroeder@case.edu
Deal, William Religious Studies Religion, Ethics william.deal@case.edu
Sarma, Deepak Religious Studies Hinduism, Indian Philosophy, Post-Colonialism, Bioethics, Sanskrit deepak.sarma@case.edu
Clingingsmith, David Economics South Asia, Behavioral Economics, Language david.clingingsmith@case.edu 
Prina, Silvia Economics Development Economics, Class, Education silvia.prina@case.edu

Europe

Gaines, Atwood Anthropology, Bioethics, Nursing, Psychiatry Western Europe, France, Medical Anthropology, Gender, Aging, Dementia, Social Identity atwood.gaines@case.edu
Benay, Erin Art History Gender, Science erin.benay@case.edu
Gertsman, Elina Art History Medieval Art, Material Culture, Devotion, Senses, Imagination, Performance elina.gertsman@case.edu
Popkin, Maggie Art History Roman Art and Architecture maggie.popkin@case.edu
Rager, Andrea Art History Environment, Photography, British Art and History andrea.rager@case.edu
Scallen, Catherine Art History Belgium, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Art in Northern Europe 1400-1800; Art Market, Art Museums catherine.scallen@case.edu
Apostol, Ricardo Classics Literature of Rome, Latin ricardo.apostol@case.edu
Berindeanu, Florin Classics Medieval Studies, Mysticism, Comparative Literature, Italian Studies florin.berindeanu@case.edu
Neils, Jenifer Classics Gender, Greek Art and Archaeology, Museum Studies, Cultural Heritage jenifer.neils@case.edu
Iversen, Paul Classics Greek and Latin Epigraphy, Archaeology paul.iversen@cwru.edu
Sternberg, Rachel Classics Greek Language, Emotions, Morality rachel.sternberg@case.edu
Wutrich, Timothy Classics Greek and Roman Drama, Latin Language and Literature, Greek Language and Literature, Comparative Literature, Classical Tradition in Literature and Art timothy.wutrich@case.edu
Koenigsberger, Kurt English British Literature kurt.koenigsberger@case.edu
Olbricht, Erika English Landscape Studies, Botanical History erika.olbricht@case.edu
Siebenschuh, William English British Literature william.siebenschuh@case.edu
Vinter, Magdalena English British Literature, Theater, Religion, Science magdalena.vinter@case.edu
Vrettos, Athena English Victorian Literature, Medicine, Sexuality athena.vrettos@case.edu
Woodmansee, Martha English Law, Economics in Literature martha.woodmansee@case.edu
Broich, John History Environment, Race, Military john.broich@case.edu 
Geller, Jay History Religion, Urban History jay.geller@case.edu 
Ledford, Kenneth History Capitalism, Class Formation, Law and Legal History, Diplomatic History kenneth.ledford@case.edu 
Levin, Miriam History Urbanization, Political and Social Theory, Industrialization, Development miriam.levin@case.edu 
Rocke, Alan History Science, Technology alan.rocke@case.edu 
Weiss, Gillian History Mediterranean, France, Islam, Slavery and Piracy gillian.weiss@case.edu 
Cano, Christine Modern Languages and Literatures Film, Literature, Journalism in France christine.cano@case.edu
Caterinacci, Denise Modern Languages and Literatures Italian Language denise.caterinacci@case.edu
Daley, Margaretmary Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Gender margaretmary.daley@case.edu
Fernandez, Elena Modern Languages and Literatures Business, Medicine m.fernandez@case.edu
Hagiwara, Takao Modern Languages and Literatures Gender, Race, Religion, Comparative Literature, U.S.-Japan Relations takao.hagiwara@case.edu
Ittner, Jutta Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Gender jutta.ittner@case.edu
Lathers, Marie Modern Languages and Literatures French and English Literature, Film, Gender, Technology marie.lathers@case.edu
Lohmeyer, Enno Modern Languages and Literatures Gender enno.lohmeyer@case.edu
Pizot-Haymore, Fabienne Modern Languages and Literatures Education, Theater, Cognition, Translation fabienne.haymore@case.edu
Punales-Alpizar, Damaris Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Film, Cultural Studies damaris.punales-alpizar@case.edu
Vees-Gulani, Susanne Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Cognition, Identity susanne.vees-gulani@case.edu
Yang, Peter Modern Languages and Literatures Sustainability, Renewable Energy Policy, Globalization, Theater peter.yang1@case.edu
Zilotina, Tatiana Modern Languages and Literatures Russian Literature tatiana.zilotina@case.edu
Bennet, Peter Music French Music, Religion, Politics peter.bennett@case.edu
Brittan, Francesca Music French Music francesca.brittan@case.edu
Cowart, Georgia Music French Music georgia.cowart@case.edu
McClary, Susan Music European Music History, Gender, Sexuality susan.mcclary@case.edu
Rothenberg, David Music Medieval and Renaissance Music david.rothenberg@case.edu
Hengehold, Laura Philosophy Gender, Politics laura.hengehold@case.edu
Beckwith, Karen Political Science Gender, Political Participation, Electoral Systems karen.beckwith@case.edu
Lavelle, Kathryn Political Science International Organizations, U.S. Foreign Policy, Banking kathryn.lavelle@case.edu
McMann, Kelly Political Science Democratization, Corruption, Local Politics kelly.mcmann@case.edu
Posner, Elliot Political Science Governance of International Markets, International Cooperation, International Institutions, Financial Regulation eap26@case.edu
White, Joseph Political Science Health Care, Budgets, Public Policy joseph.white@case.edu

Latin America and the Caribbean

Almeida, Katia Anthropology Cultural Anthropology, Globalization, Socioeconomic and Human Development katia.almeida@case.edu
Anderson-Fye, Eileen Anthropology Youth, Education, Mental Health, Body Image and Obesity eileen.anderson-fye@case.edu
Beall, Cynthia Anthropology Biological Anthropology cynthia.beall@case.edu
Flores, John History Immigration, Labor john.flores@case.edu 
Chupp, Mark MSASS Equador, Central America, Community Development, Citizen Participation, Conflict Transformation mark.chupp@case.edu
Copertari, Gabriela Modern Languages and Literatures Film, Literature, Gender marta.g.copertari@case.edu
Gomez Olivares, Cristian Modern Languages and Literatures Latin American Poetry cristian.gomezolivares@case.edu
Lipszyc-Arroyo, Clara Modern Languages and Literatures Spain, Portugal, Spanish Language, Portuguese Language clara.lipszyc-arroyo@case.edu
Nanfito, Jacqueline Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Gender jacqueline.nanfito@case.edu
Punales-Alpizar, Damaris Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Film, Cultural Studies damaris.punales-alpizar@case.edu
Madigan, Elizabeth Nursing International Health Care Issues eam13@case.edu
Tartakoff, Laura Political Science Law, Civil Liberties, Constitutions lyt@case.edu
Prina, Silvia Economics Development Economics, Class, Education silvia.prina@case.edu

Middle East and North Africa

Broich, John History Environment, Race, Military john.broich@case.edu 
Daon, Yoram Modern Languages and Literatures Israel, Science, Technology, Business, Religion, Politics, Society yoram.daon@case.edu
Islambouli, Ramez Modern Languages and Literatures Law, Science, Technology, Religion ramez.islambouli@case.edu
Hans, Mark Orthodontics Israel, Manot Cave mark.hans@cwru.edu
Moore, Pete Political Science Economic Development, Conflict, Security, Foreign Policy pwm10@case.edu
Haas, Peter Religious Studies Religion peter.haas@case.edu

Transregional

Lederman, Michael AIDS Clinical Trial Unit HIV Medicine mxl6@case.edu
Gaines, Atwood Anthropology, Bioethics, Nursing, Psychiatry Western Europe, France, Medical Anthropology, Gender, Aging, Dementia, Social Identity atwood.gaines@case.edu
Youngner, Stuart Bioethics Biomedical Ethics sxy2@case.edu
Carlsson, Bo Economics International Business bo.carlsson@case.edu
Marling, William English Globalization, World Literature, Film Noir, Translation william.marling@case.edu
Sheeler, James English Journalism james.sheeler@case.edu
McCall, Peter Geology, Environmental Studies Environmental Law peter.mccall@case.edu
Kazura, James Global Health and Diseases Disease-endemic Countries, Susceptibility to Infections jxk14@case.edu
Blanton, Ronald Global Health and Diseases Tropical Medicine, Genetics ronald.blanton@case.edu
Grimberg, Brian Global Health and Diseases Malaria Biology, Drug Resistance, Drug Discovery brian.grimberg@case.edu
King, Christopher Global Health and Diseases Malaria, Vaccine Development christopher.king@case.edu
King, Charles Global Health and Diseases Schistosomiasis, Ecologic Factors in Disease Transmission chk@cwru.edu
Zimmerman, Peter Global Health and Diseases Malaria, HIV, Immunogenetics paz@case.edu
Shulman, Peter History American Foreign Relations History peter.shulman@case.edu
Arts, Eric Infectious Diseases HIV Medicine eja3@case.edu
Colares, Juscelino Law School International Business Law, International Environmental Law colares@case.edu
Cover, Avidan Law School Global Security Law and Policy avidan.cover@case.edu
Gerhart, Peter Law School International Economic Law, Globalization, Trade Regulation peter.gerhart@case.edu
Gordon, Richard Law School International Taxation and Law, International Monetary Fund, Sovereign Debt Defaults, Anti-Money Laundering, Terrorism Financing richard.gordon@case.edu
Robertson, Cassandra Law School Legal Ethics, Litigation Procedure cassandra.robertson@case.edu
Scharf, Michael Law School International Law, International Criminal Law, Law of International Organizations, War Crimes, National Security Law michael.scharf@case.edu
Strassfeld, Robert Law School Labor Law, Legal History robert.strassfeld@case.edu
Groza, Victor MSASS International Adoption victor.groza@case.edu
Hokenstad, Merl MSASS United Nations, Aging, International Social Welfare, Social Service Delivery Systems mch2@case.edu
Jacobson, Deborah MSASS Study Abroad Courses and Outcomes deborah.jacobson@case.edu
Cooperrider, David Organizational Behavior International Business david.cooperrider@case.edu
Kim, Chin-Tai Philosophy Religion, Ethics chin-tai.kim@case.edu
French, Shannon Philosophy Ethics shannon.french@case.edu
Bendik-Keymer, Jeremy Philosophy Ethics, Environment, Human Rights, Education jeremy.bendik-keymer@case.edu
Posner, Elliot Political Science Governance of International Markets, International Cooperation, International Institutions, Financial Regulation eap26@case.edu
Gran, Brian Sociology, Law School Human Rights, Law, Social Policy brian.gran@case.edu
Mahnic, William Weatherhead School of Management Global Banking and Capital Markets william.mahnic@case.edu

Page last modified: August 1, 2016