College of Arts and Sciences

Navigation + Search
Home / News / Home Page News Feature / Nobel Prize-winning scientists help celebrate Standard Model of particle physics at CWRU

Nobel Prize-winning scientists help celebrate Standard Model of particle physics at CWRU

This summer, a group of eminent scientists, including the greatest concentration of Nobel Prize winners to convene in Cleveland since the Michelson-Morley Symposium of 1987 – will meet at Case Western Reserve University for the “Standard Model at 50” conference hosted by CWRU’s Department of Physics June 1–4, 2018.

Steven Weinberg launched the Standard Model of particle physics in his paper, “A Model of Leptons.” Now, 50 years later, CWRU physicists are planning a celebratory symposium featuring many of the scientists who made significant contributions to the Standard Model’s development.

“The Standard Model of Particle Physics is the most successful scientific theory ever,” said Cyrus C. Taylor, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences and Albert A. Michelson Professor in Physics at Case Western Reserve University. “We are thrilled to welcome some of the world’s preeminent scientists to Cleveland this summer to celebrate the accomplishments in particle physics of the past 50 years.”

The conference honors the people who built the theory and aims to share that knowledge and the outstanding challenges and puzzles with the next generation of young physicists. The current roster of eight Nobel Prize-winning attendees is: Jerome Friedman, David Gross, Gerard ‘t Hooft, Takaaki Kajita, George Smoot, Carlo Rubbia, Sam Ting and Steve Weinberg.

Gross will deliver a free public lecture, The Standard Model and Beyond, on Sunday, June 3, at 5:00 p.m. at the Tinkham Veale University Center on the CWRU campus.

For tickets and more information, please visit

Page last modified: June 12, 2018