College of Arts and Sciences

Navigation + Search
Home / News / Faculty Accomplishments

Faculty Accomplishments

Karen BeckwithKaren Beckwith, Flora Stone Mather Professor and Chair Department of Political Science, was awarded the American Political Science Association Centennial Grant to complete the book manuscript Cabinets, Ministers, and Gender.





Robert BrownRobert Brown, Distinguished University Professor and Institute Professor in the Department of Physics, and his research team won the 2016 United States Patent and Trademark Office’s Patent for Humanity recognition award for the second straight year. The award recognized their successful malaria detector which is now being used in developing countries around the world. 





Angela CicciaAngela Ciccia, Associate Professor of Psychological Sciences, was selected as the recipient of the 2017 American Congress of Rehabilitative Medicine Distinguished Member Award, which honors those who have significantly contributed to the development and functioning of ACRM, demonstrated evidence of leadership skills, organizational abilities, and public service. 





Dale DanneferDale Dannefer, Selah Chamberlain Professor of Sociology and Chair of the Department of Sociology, co-authored The Continued Eclipse of Heterogeneity in Gerontological Research, which was published in the Journal of Gerontology Social Sciences. He also received recognition for his 2003 paper, Cumulative Advantage/Disadvantage and the Life Course: Cross-Fertilizing Age and Social Science Theory, which is the second most cited article in the history of the Journal of Gerontology Social Sciences.




Mary ErdmansTim BlackMary Patrice Erdmans and Tim Black, Associate Professors of Sociology, received an Honorable Mention from the William J. Goode Book Award for their book On Becoming a Teen Mom: Life Before Pregnancy. Erdmans also received the Maggie Kuhn Scholar-Activist Award of the Youth, Aging, and Life Course Division of the Society for the Study of Social Problems.




Jay GellerJay Geller, Samuel Rosenthal Professor of Judaic Studies and Associate Professor of History, edited and contributed to Three-Way Street, a collection of essays that traces Germany’s significance as an essential crossroads and incubator for modern Jewish culture.





Elina GertsmanElina Gertsman, Professor of Art History, co-authored Myth and Mystique: The Cleveland Gothic Table Fountain and co-curated the fountain’s exhibition at the Cleveland Museum of Art. She was also awarded the American Council for Learned Societies Fellowship.





Vanessa HildebrandeVanessa Hildebrand, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, co-authored the book Health, Culture, and Society: Conceptual Legacies and Contemporary Applications. She was also elected to chair the Council on Anthropology and Reproduction, a sub-section of the American Anthropological Association.





Paul IversenPaul Iversen, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Classics, had his article, The Antikythera Mechanism and the Corinthian Family of Calendars, published in Hesperia volume 86. The article conclusively identifies the calendar on the Antikythera Mechanism, which is the oldest known analogue computing device, as belonging to the Corinthian family of calendars.





Lisa KoopsLisa Koops, Associate Professor of Music Education, was awarded a grant from the Grammy Foundation for her project that aims to document parents’ musical practices, beliefs, and perceptions about musical development in order to gain a broader understanding of the interactions and relationships influencing early childhood music development in home and community settings.




David LucasDavid Lucas, Full-time Lecturer in the Department of English, was awarded the Emerging Artist Prize in Literature by the Cleveland Arts Prize. He was also awarded the Creative Workforce Fellowship from the Community Partnership for Arts and Culture.





Stacy McGaughStacy McGaugh, Professor and Chair of the Department of Astronomy, published 9 papers in 2016, 3 as first author. One of these, published in Physical Review Letters, identifies the radial acceleration relation for rotating galaxies. This empirical relation is tantamount to a new law of nature. He was also invited to speak at nine different events, including conferences, colloquia, and public lectures, including the Benson lecture at Miami University. McGaugh also participated in the World Science Festival as the lead panelist discussing the “Dark Horses of Dark Matter.” Press stories related to McGaugh’s work abound, with two dozen stories appearing in Forbes, New Scientist, Quanta magazine, the Gaurdian, and other outlets both in print and on-line, in English and in other languages.


Kelly McMannKelly McMann, Associate Professor of Political Science and Director of the International Studies Program, is a project manager for the global research collaboration Varieties of Democracy, which was selected for the 2016 Lijphart/Przeworski/Verba Data Set Award from the American Political Science Association.





Elizabeth MeckesElizabeth Meckes, Associate Professor of Mathematics, received a three-year grant from the National Science Foundation’s Division of Mathematical Sciences.





Steve PinkertonSteve Pinkerton, Full-time Lecturer in the Department of English, had his book, Blasphemous Modernism: The 20th-Century Word Made Flesh, published by Oxford University Press.






Cassi PittmanCassi Pittman, Assistant Professor of Sociology, was awarded the Sheila Biddle Ford Foundation Fellowship at the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University for the spring semester of 2018. She was also awarded a Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation Career Enhancement Fellowship for Fall 2017.





John ProtasiewiczJohn Protasiewicz, Professor and Associate Chair of the Department of Chemistry, received the Mandel Award for Outstanding Chemistry Faculty.






Brad RiccaBrad Ricca, Full-time Lecturer in the Department of English, published his book, Mrs. Sherlock Holmes. The book is the first-ever biography of Grace Humiston: missing person advocate, detective, and the first female U.S. District Attorney. The book is a recipient of the Kirkus Star and was featured on BookTV on C-SPAN-2.





Charles RosenblattCharles Rosenblatt, Professor and Ohio Eminent Scholar in Condensed Matter Physics, was awarded a fellowship from the Lady Davis Foundation for 4 months of research at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel. He also received a five year grant from NASA to place an experiment on topological defects in liquid crystals aboard the International Space Station.





Cheryl TomanCheryl Toman, Associate Professor of French and Director of the Ethnic Studies Program and of the Women’s and Gender Studies Program, published a book titled Women Writers of Gabon: Literature and Herstory. She was also named President of the Biennale de la Langue Française, a 55-year old international organization for scholars and educators in France supported by the French Minister of Culture and Communication and the Organisation Internationale de la Francophonie. 



Page last modified: May 11, 2017