Alain Blondel


Born 26 march1953 in Neuilly (92000 FRANCE), French citizen
Personal address: 590 rte d’Ornex, 01280 Prévessin, France. Tel. +33 (0)4 50 40 46 51
Prefessional address Département de Physique Nucléaire et Corpusculaire
Université de Genève Quai Ernest-Ansermet 24 CH-1205 Genève 4 ORCID : 0000-0002-1597-8859

Engineer Ecole Polytechnique Paris (X1972)
DEA in Nuclear Physics, University of Orsay (1975)
3d cycle Thesis, University of Orsay (1976)
PhD in Physics University of Orsay (1979)



1975 Stagiaire Ecole Polytechnique (Palaiseau, France) (PhD student grant)
1977 Attaché de Recherche au CNRS (Permanent position as junior researcher)
1980 Chargé de Recherche au CNRS (Permanent position as senior researcher)
1983-1985-1989 Boursier CERN (CERN fellow) then Membre du Personnel CERN (CERN staff)
1989 → Directeur de Recherches au CNRS (Director of research group) (actuellement DR1)
1991 → 2000 Maître de Conférences à l’Ecole Polytechnique (Junior professor)
1995 Attaché scientifique CERN (CERN scientific associate)
2000 Detaché du CNRS, Professeur ordinaire à l’Université de Genève (Full professor)
neutrino group leader

2000 – Faculty Member, Faculté des Sciences University of Geneva Country
2004 – 2010 Chair of the teaching commission at the Physics Institute University of Geneva
2004 — 2012 Coordinator of doctoral studies University of Geneva
2004 Organizer of the ’50 years of CERN’ ceremony at University of Geneva
2005 Organizer of “Kids University” at University of Geneva
2005 – 2008 Organizer of the evening public lectures at the Physics Institute University of Geneva
(audience 300 persons)

HARP at CERN (as co-spokesperson) Hadroproduction experiment
MICE: the International Muon Ionization Cooling Experiment. (as Spokesperson) approved in 2003
T2K experiment approved in 2003 (as leader of the Swiss collaborators)
NA61/SHINE (collaboration board chair and leader of the neutrino activity) approved 2006 at CERN
Baby-MIND (as spokesperson) approved in 2015 at CERN

1996 – 2017 18 Master students
— PhD students: Aurelio Juste , Andrea Valassi, Eugeni Grauges, Simone Gilardoni, Cristina Morone,
Gersende Prior, Silvia Borghi, Maximilien Fechner, Manuel Diaz, Raphael Schroeter, Rikard Sandstroem,
Ahmed Ali Abdelalim, Nicolas Abgrall, Vassil Verguilov, Melody Ravonel, Sebastien Murphy, Ruslan
Asfandiyarov, Antoaneta Damianova, Leila Haegel, François Drielsma, Lucie Maret, Saba Parsa.
— Postdocs : Francesca Mazzucato, Imma Riu, Mario Campanelli, Luca Malgeri, Edda Gschwendtner,
Anselmo Cervera, Arno Straessner, Bertrand Martin dit Latour, Jean-Sebastien Graulich, Marie di Marco,
Fanny Dufour, Jeremy Argyriades, Andrea Ferrero, Gustav Wikström, Alexander Korzenev, Yordan
Karadzhov, Etam Noah, Mark Rayner, Melody Ravonel, Davide Sgalaberna

From 1991 till 2000 : Quantum Mechanics at Ecole Polytechnique Palaiseau France.
From 1996 till 1999 : Particle Physics at the DEA Orsay, France.
From 2000 – 2018: Professor at the DPNC, Physics section, University of Geneva, Switzerland:

2000-2008 Mechanics for physicists (1st year)
2008-2011 Quantum Mechanics I
2004- Physique d’aujourd’hui (public lecture on neutrino physics)
2004- Chapitres choisis de Physique des particules (Master’s course on neutrino physics)
2002- Students seminars (teaching a student to give a seminar)
2012- 1st year Physics for mathematicians, IT, chemists, biologists and environment scientists.

ORGANISATION OF SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS (most significant ones, since 2006 only)
1999-2017 NUFACT workshops: founding member and member of Scientific Program Committee (Yearly
100-200 participants). Chaired NUFACT11 at Geneva and NUFACT16 in Vietnam
2006 Member of the Preparatory group of the 1st European Strategy meeting, I co-organized the Orsay
symposium (386 participants) and the Zeuthen strategy meeting (60 participants)
2009 Chair of European strategy for future neutrino physics at CERN 254 Participants
2012 Chair of European strategy for future neutrino oscillation physics CERN 159 part.
2015 program committee “Workshop for Neutrino Programs with facilities in Japan” (100)
2012 – 2016 program committee for the ICFA beam dynamics workshop HF2012 (Chicago) ‘Higgs
Factories: Linear vs Circular’, then HF2014 (Beijing) eeFact2016 (Daresbury) (60 participants)
2012-2018 Organization of the TLEP-FCC-ee workshops (10 workshops typically 60 participants) and
Video conferences (2 monthly)
2014 co-chair of ‘FCC design study kick-off meeting’ at University of Geneva (341 part.)
2015 Member of organizing committee of the FCC week in Washington (336 participants)
2016 Member of organizing committee of the FCC week in Rome (468 participants)
2016 Organizer of “workshop on neutrino near detectors based on gas TPCs”, 8-9 Nov 2016 (72 part.)
2017 Chair of the organization of the first FCC physics week at CERN
2017 Member of organizing committee of the FCC week in Berlin (> 500 participants?)
2017 Organizing committee for the workshop
2018 Member of scientific committee for the conference ‘History of the Neutrino’ (Paris, 2018)
2018 Chair of FCC physics week at CERN

2003 –2009 Member of CERN Scientific Policy Committee
2000-2012 Member of the PSI BVR review committee. Referee of the MEG experiment.
2006 — Member of the European Particle Physics Strategy Group
2009 — Reviewer for the Helmolz society, Germany
2010 – Reviewer for the Belgian Science Policy office BELSPO
2013 – Reviewer for ANR projects, FRANCE
2014 — Reviewer for ERC proposals
2004 – Nominations for the Nobel Prize in Physics
2000 — Referee for PRL, PRD, PRSTAB, JHEP, Nucl.Phys. B, NIM, Physics Letters, JINST, JHEP

Bronze Medal CNRS (1979) (given yearly to the best PhD thesis in Particle/Nuclear physics for the
observation of open charm in neutrino interactions)
Prize of the Thibaud Foundation, Académie des Sciences, Arts et Belles Lettres de Lyon (1991),
for the measurement of the number of neutrino species.
Silver Medal CNRS (1995) (given yearly for the best achievement in the field); for precision
measurements at LEP and the prediction of the top quark and Higgs boson mass
Paul Langevin Prize from the French Academy of Sciences (1996), for the work on polarized
beams at LEP
Manne Siegbahn Medal from the Royal Academy of Science in Sweden (1997), for the precision
measurements of the Z mass and width at LEP using resonant depolarization
Prize Jean Ricard by the French Physical Society (2004) (yearly, best achievement in Physics, for
precision measurements at LEP and the prediction of the top quark and Higgs boson masses.
Suwa Prize (2013) with the T2K beam group for contribution to discovery of electron neutrino

Breakthrough prize (2016) with the K2K and T2K collaborations for the discovery of neutrino