Kristine Camper ’19

Photo of Kristine CamperWhere are you from? 

Brunswick, Ohio

What are you studying?

M.A. in Medical Anthropology and Global Health

What do you study as an undergraduate student?

I was biology, anthropology, and pre-medical studies.

Why did you choose to study this/these subjects?

I was actually applying to medical school when I took my first medical anthropology class and it really opened my eyes to a completely new way of viewing the world around me. It taught me to understand the entire picture and I wanted to learn more about how to do that in medicine before pursuing a medical degree.

What is your favorite class and/or faculty member, and why?

I loved Dr. Vanessa Hildebrand’s maternal health class because it is a relatively new and developing field where I was really able to tailor my particular interests into research projects that I could conduct for her class. She is a marvelous lecturer who truly challenges her students in not only critical and creative thinking, but also in professional and academic development.

Why did you choose CWRU?

I chose CWRU because it was one of the most renowned universities in the nation that had an almost entire medical or physical anthropology department. Our professors in our department are forefront thinkers in their field and I wanted to absorb as much knowledge as I could before embarking on my own career path.

What do you like best about CWRU?

I love how CWRU is nestled right outside of Cleveland which, to me, is a big city with a small community feel. There is never an absence of things to do and places to explore so everyday on campus is like a mini adventure.

What do you like best about living in Cleveland?

I love how close the city is to the parks. When you are tired of the foot traffic and need to escape you can do that in any of our [Cleveland] Metroparks or even the national park. And honestly, I love riding the RTA. It takes a long time, but people will always come up to me and read my journal articles for class with me or just chat. It’s nice being back home and seeing someone you know everyday no matter where you are. It makes Cleveland feel like a community of people that care about you and have your back.

Describe any research projects, study abroad, internship or other unique experiences and opportunities you have had as a result of being a CWRU student.

I am volunteering with the United States Center for Refugees and Immigrants (USCRI), which I am extremely excited about because it is my concentration in the academic setting as well. I have conducted systematic reviews regarding refugees and immigrants accessing health care and what systemic barriers or aids that may be helping them reach those services, so I am excited to apply those findings to context-specific situations.

What extracurricular activities are you involved in?

Volunteering with USCRI and interning at BioEnterprise

What are some of your interests and hobbies?

I am always running. Running around, running here and there, so if you see a crazy person wearing normal clothes and sprinting down the sidewalk it is probably me! I run and train for triathlons to blow off some steam. I also work at an outdoor store so I like to take my gear and take a road trip to go backpacking, hiking, climbing, or just travel to explore a new city.

What do you consider to be your biggest accomplishment so far?

I honestly think being a master’s student at CWRU is my biggest accomplishment. I have completed funded research projects, conducted independent studies, and been involved in extracurriculars my whole life, but never have I been so challenged and engaged to pursue my personal interests in global health more than I have at Case. This is largely due to the professors at this university and the transition has been difficult and taxing, but I like the challenge of it all.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

In five years, I hope to be back in Croatia working in the public health sector, focusing on human migration, and aiming to return to receive further training whether that be in medicine or law. I haven’t decided which discipline I will be able to make a greater impact in based off of my skill sets.