College of Arts and Sciences

Navigation + Search
Home / Student Spotlights / Devina Patel ’20

Devina Patel ’20

Where are you from?

Cleveland, OH

What is your major?

English and Finance

Why did you choose to study these subjects?

I love English because it allows me to understand other people through language and culture and helps to capture the whole human experience. I choose to study Finance because I wanted to have a business background that would aid me in any future career.

What is your favorite class and/or faculty member, and why?

My favorite class that I took was an English seminar with Professor Michael Clune. The conversations we had in that seminar were so enlightening and thoughtworthy; the topics discussed ranged from Thoreau to racial backgrounds to human connections.

Why did you choose CWRU?

I choose Case because it was close to home and because of the student body size.

What do you like best about CWRU?

I love the English classes. They really push me to think beyond the scope of the things and the conversations I have in my seminars really nourish and help me grow.

What do you like best about living in Cleveland?

I’ve been here my whole life but I love that I’m close to home and I feel like Cleveland is really becoming a place with many more attractions so I’m happy that there are things to do!

Describe any research projects, study abroad, internship or other unique experiences and opportunities you have had as a result of being a CWRU student.

I went to Guatemala during my spring break study abroad to study child welfare, which was a very unique experience. I am also starting a new organization on campus that uses literature to help and provide a release for those who are incarcerated.

What extracurricular activities are you involved in?

I am president of a new organization I am starting up (no official name yet); I am vice president for my class through the Class Officer Collective; I am secretary for the Academic Integrity Club, a dancer on Spartan Bhangra Team, and a member of Phi Mu Sorority.

What are some of your interests and hobbies?

I love reading, dancing, watching movies, listening to podcasts, painting, and hiking!

What do you consider to be your biggest accomplishment so far?

I was very happy with the work that I did at the Georgetown Criminal Justice Clinic. I was an Investigative Intern and I developed many meaningful relationships with the clients that I worked with.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Hopefully working at a firm in a city that I love!

 

Page last modified: March 11, 2019