These professors have international research and teaching interests and are based in various departments and schools at the university.   The list of faculty members is divided by regions of the world and a transregional category. Many individuals also have topical interests, which are included at the end of each entry. To read the faculty member’s webpage, click on his or her name.

This information is provided to help majors search for courses and seek expert advice on research projects, study abroad institutions, and employment and volunteer opportunities. For guidance about the International Studies major, students should work with the director of International Studies.

Before contacting a professor, majors are encouraged to gather and review relevant information (e.g. study abroad programs in a country of interest), read the professor’s web page, and prepare specific questions.

Region

Name

Department

Topics

Email

Africa

Simpson, Scott Anatomy, School of Medicine Human Evolution, Paleontology scott.simpson@case.edu
Beall, Cynthia Anthropology Biological Anthropology cynthia.beall@case.edu
McGrath, Janet Anthropology Medical Anthropology, HIV/AIDS janet.mcgrath@case.edu
Weinberg, Aaron Biological Sciences, School of Dental Medicine HIV and Oral Diseases in Uganda, Oral Cancer in Taiwan aaron.weinberg@case.edu
Sadowsky, Jonathan History Medicine jonathan.sadowsky@case.edu 
Doho, Gilbert Modern Languages and Literatures Theater, Film, Postcolonial Studies gilbert.doho@case.edu
Sanpere, Charlotte Modern Languages and Literatures Film Theory and History, French Cinema, French Culture Through Films, Francophone African Cinema charlotte.sanpere@case.edu
Toman, Cheryl Modern Languages and Literatures Gender cheryl.toman@case.edu
Koops, Lisa Music Children’s Music Education, West Africa (Gambia), Ethnomusicology lisa.koops@case.edu
Dent, Arlene Pediatrics, School of Medicine Kenya, Malaria Immunology arlene.dent@case.edu
Hengehold, Laura Philosophy Gender, Politics laura.hengehold@case.edu
Posner, Elliot Political Science Governance of International Markets, International Cooperation, International Institutions, Financial Regulation eap26@case.edu
Webel, Allison School of Nursing HIV, Uganda allison.webel@case.edu

Asia

Beall, Cynthia Anthropology Biological Anthropology cynthia.beall@case.edu
Goldstein, Melvyn Anthropology China/Tibet, Family, Marriage, Aging, Economic Development, Modern History and Politics melvyn.goldstein@case.edu
Hildebrand, Vanessa Anthropology Southeast Asia, Global Health, Reproductive Health, Gender, Medical Anthropology, Science and Technology Studies vanessa.hildebrand@case.edu
Shaffer, Jim Anthropology South Asia, Archaeology jim.shaffer@case.edu
Shi, Lihong Anthropology Reproduction, Family, Gender, Medical Anthropology lihong.shi@case.edu
Park, Eunyoung Art History Global Contemporary Visual Culture eunyoung.park2@case.edu
Balasubramanyan, Lakshmi Banking & Finance, School of Management Southeast Asia, Singapore, Global Banking and Capital Markets lakshmi.balasubramanyan@case.edu
Aulisio, Mark Bioethics, School of Medicine Intercultural Clinical Bioethics mpa5@case.edu
Weinberg, Aaron Biological Sciences, School of Dental Medicine HIV and Oral Diseases in Uganda, Oral Cancer in Taiwan aaron.weinberg@case.edu
Clingingsmith, David Economics, School of Management South Asia, Behavioral Economics, Language david.clingingsmith@case.edu 
Dasgupta, Ananya History South Asia (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh), Colonialism, Nationalism, Religion, Gender ananya.dasgupta@case.edu 
Chai, Man-Lih Modern Languages and Literatures Chinese Language and Culture mxc531@case.edu
Fitzgerald, Margaret Modern Languages and Literatures Japanese Language, Japanese Culture margaret.fitzgerald@case.edu
Hagiwara, Takao Modern Languages and Literatures Gender, Race, Religion, Comparative Literature, U.S.-Japan Relations takao.hagiwara@case.edu
Kishi, Yoshiko Modern Languages and Literatures Japanese Language, Japanese Culture yoshiko.kishi@case.edu
Shirai, Yasuhiro Modern Languages and Literatures Linguistics, Japanese Language yasuhiro.shirai@case.edu
McMann, Kelly Political Science Democratization, Corruption, Local Politics kelly.mcmann@case.edu
Schroeder, Paul Political Science International Trade, Environment paul.schroeder@case.edu
Deal, William Religious Studies Religion, Ethics william.deal@case.edu
Sarma, Deepak Religious Studies Hinduism, Indian Philosophy, Post-Colonialism, Bioethics, Sanskrit deepak.sarma@case.edu
Tan, Jonathan Religious Studies Southeast Asia (Malaysia/Singapore/Indonesia), Postcolonial Studies, Migration Studies, World Christianity, Global Catholicism, Inter-religious Studies jonathan.tan@case.edu
Webster, Timothy School of Law Asian Legal Studies, International Trade and Human Rights timothy.j.webster@case.edu
Hardin, Heather School of Nursing Implementation and Evaluation of the Chronic-Disease Self-Management Program among Chinese Immigrant older Adults in the U.S. hkh10@case.edu
Lindell, Deborah School of Nursing Menstrual Health, China dxl41@case.edu
Voss, Joachim School of Nursing Global Health Department, ongoing joint Grant Proposal with Taiwan jgv20@case.edu
Zhang, Amy Urology, School of Nursing Depression in Chinese Cancer Patients axz16@case.edu

Europe

Gaines, Atwood Anthropology; Bioethics and Psychiatry, School of Medicine; School of Nursing Western Europe, France, Medical Anthropology, Gender, Aging, Dementia, Social Identity atwood.gaines@case.edu
Benay, Erin Art History Gender, Science erin.benay@case.edu
Gertsman, Elina Art History Medieval Art, Material Culture, Devotion, Senses, Imagination, Performance elina.gertsman@case.edu
Popkin, Maggie Art History Roman Art and Architecture maggie.popkin@case.edu
Rager, Andrea Art History Environment, Photography, British Art and History andrea.rager@case.edu
Scallen, Catherine Art History Belgium, France, Germany, The Netherlands, Art in Northern Europe 1400-1800; Art Market, Art Museums catherine.scallen@case.edu
Adkins, Evelyn Classics Greek and Latin Language, Archaeology, Gender and Sexuality, Roman Social and Cultural History; working in Italy, Greece, France, and Turkey evelyn.adkins@case.edu
Berindeanu, Florin Classics Medieval Studies, Mysticism, Comparative Literature, Italian Studies florin.berindeanu@case.edu
Iversen, Paul Classics Greek and Latin Epigraphy, Archaeology paul.iversen@cwru.edu
Sternberg, Rachel Classics Greek Language, Emotions, Morality rachel.sternberg@case.edu
Wutrich, Timothy Classics Greek and Roman Drama, Latin Language and Literature, Greek Language and Literature, Comparative Literature, Classical Tradition in Literature and Art timothy.wutrich@case.edu
Koenigsberger, Kurt English British Literature kurt.koenigsberger@case.edu
Olbricht, Erika English Landscape Studies, Botanical History erika.olbricht@case.edu
Vinter, Magdalena English British Literature, Theater, Religion, Science magdalena.vinter@case.edu
Vrettos, Athena English Victorian Literature, Medicine, Sexuality athena.vrettos@case.edu
Woodmansee, Martha English Law, Economics in Literature martha.woodmansee@case.edu
Broich, John History Environment, Race, Military john.broich@case.edu 
Geller, Jay History Religion, Urban History jay.geller@case.edu 
Ledford, Kenneth History Capitalism, Class Formation, European Union Law and European Legal History, European Legal Professions, Diplomatic History kenneth.ledford@case.edu 
Levin, Miriam History Urbanization, Political and Social Theory, Industrialization, Development miriam.levin@case.edu 
Weiss, Gillian History Mediterranean, France, Islam, Slavery and Piracy gillian.weiss@case.edu 
Cano, Christine Modern Languages and Literatures Film, Literature, Journalism in France christine.cano@case.edu
Caterinacci, Denise Modern Languages and Literatures Italian Language denise.caterinacci@case.edu
Daley, Margaretmary Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Gender margaretmary.daley@case.edu
Hagiwara, Takao Modern Languages and Literatures Gender, Race, Religion, Comparative Literature, U.S.-Japan Relations takao.hagiwara@case.edu
Ittner, Jutta Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Gender jutta.ittner@case.edu
Lathers, Marie Modern Languages and Literatures French and English Literature, Film, Gender, Technology marie.lathers@case.edu
Lohmeyer, Enno Modern Languages and Literatures Gender enno.lohmeyer@case.edu
Pizot-Haymore, Fabienne Modern Languages and Literatures Education, Theater, Cognition, Translation fabienne.haymore@case.edu
Punales-Alpizar, Damaris Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Film, Cultural Studies damaris.punales-alpizar@case.edu
Sanpere, Charlotte Modern Languages and Literatures Film Theory and History, French Cinema, French Culture Through Films, Francophone African Cinema charlotte.sanpere@case.edu
Vees-Gulani, Susanne Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Cognition, Identity susanne.vees-gulani@case.edu
Yang, Peter Modern Languages and Literatures Sustainability, Renewable Energy Policy, Globalization, Theater peter.yang1@case.edu
Zilotina, Tatiana Modern Languages and Literatures Russian Literature tatiana.zilotina@case.edu
Andrijeski, Julie Music Baroque Orchestra, Baroque Violin julie.andrijeski@case.edu
Bennet, Peter Music French Music, Religion, Politics peter.bennett@case.edu
Brittan, Francesca Music French Music francesca.brittan@case.edu
Cowart, Georgia Music French Music georgia.cowart@case.edu
Greenman, Steven Music East European Jewish Folk Music, East European Romani Music sxg824@case.edu
McClary, Susan Music European Music History, Gender, Sexuality susan.mcclary@case.edu
Monroe, Allison Music 17th Century English Violin Repertoire, Medieval Monophonic Song allison.monroe@case.edu
Mullins, Elena Music Baroque Dance elena.mullins@case.edu
Rothenberg, David Music Medieval and Renaissance Music david.rothenberg@case.edu
Hengehold, Laura Philosophy Gender, Politics laura.hengehold@case.edu
McLarty, Colin Philosophy Contemporary French Philosophy colin.mclarty@case.edu
Beckwith, Karen Political Science Gender, Political Participation, Electoral Systems karen.beckwith@case.edu
McMann, Kelly Political Science Democratization, Corruption, Local Politics kelly.mcmann@case.edu
Posner, Elliot Political Science Governance of International Markets, International Cooperation, International Institutions, Financial Regulation eap26@case.edu
White, Joseph Political Science Health Care, Budgets, Public Policy joseph.white@case.edu
Erdmans, Mary Sociology Immigration and Ethnicity, Poland mary.erdmans@case.edu

Latin America and the Caribbean

Almeida, Katia Anthropology Cultural Anthropology, Globalization, Socioeconomic and Human Development katia.almeida@case.edu
Beall, Cynthia Anthropology Biological Anthropology cynthia.beall@case.edu
Anderson-Fye, Eileen Bioethics, School of Medicine Youth, Education, Mental Health, Body Image and Obesity
Flores, John History Immigration, Labor john.flores@case.edu 
Chupp, Mark School of Applied Social Sciences Equador, Central America, Community Development, Citizen Participation, Conflict Transformation mark.chupp@case.edu
Copertari, Gabriela Modern Languages and Literatures Film, Literature, Gender marta.g.copertari@case.edu
Espino Castillo, Haydeé Modern Languages and Literatures Spanish Language hxe56@case.edu
Fernandez, Elena Modern Languages and Literatures Spanish Language and Spanish Language for Health Care Workers and Business m.fernandez@case.edu
Gomez Olivares, Cristian Modern Languages and Literatures Latin American Poetry cristian.gomezolivares@case.edu
Lipszyc-Arroyo, Clara Modern Languages and Literatures Spain, Portugal, Spanish Language, Portuguese Language clara.lipszyc-arroyo@case.edu
Nanfito, Jacqueline Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Gender jacqueline.nanfito@case.edu
Parry, Alessandra Modern Languages and Literatures Spanish Language, Spanish and Mexican History, Culture, and Theater, Criminal Justice alessandra.parry@case.edu
Punales-Alpizar, Damaris Modern Languages and Literatures Literature, Film, Cultural Studies damaris.punales-alpizar@case.edu
Tartakoff, Laura Political Science Law, Civil Liberties, Constitutions lyt@case.edu

Middle East and North Africa

Thiam, Sara Anthropology Medical Anthropology, Humanitarianism/Human Rights/Childhood sara.thiam@case.edu
Bolman, Elizabeth Art History Visual Culture of the Eastern Mediterranean in the late antique and Byzantine periods, Egypt elizabeth.bolman@case.edu
Broich, John History Environment, Race, Military john.broich@case.edu 
Islambouli, Ramez Modern Languages and Literatures Law, Science, Technology, Religion ramez.islambouli@case.edu
Hans, Mark Orthodontics, School of Dental Medicine Israel, Manot Cave mark.hans@cwru.edu
Moore, Pete Political Science Economic Development, Conflict, Security, Foreign Policy pwm10@case.edu
Hise, Amy Pathology, School of Medicine Host Innate Immune Responses amy.hise@case.edu
Howe, Justine Religious Studies Contemporary Islam, Women’s and Gender Studies justine.howe@case.edu

Transregional

Gaines, Atwood Anthropology; Bioethics and Psychiatry, School of Medicine; School of Nursing Western Europe, France, Medical Anthropology, Gender, Aging, Dementia, Social Identity atwood.gaines@case.edu
Bae, Joon Woo Banking & Finance, School of Management International Financial Markets, Fixed Income Markets and Their Derivatives, Financial Models Using Big Data joonwoo.bae@case.edu
Shankar, RL Banking & Finance, School of Management International Financial Markets, Algorithmic Trading lxr225@case.edu
Marshall, Patricia Bioethics, School of Medicine Ethical Guidelines for International Research, HIV Prevention, Organ Procurement Practices for Transplant in India pam20@case.edu
Youngner, Stuart Bioethics, School of Medicine Biomedical Ethics sxy2@case.edu
Lederman, Michael Center for AIDS Research, School of Medicine HIV Medicine mxl6@case.edu
Kazura, James Center for Global Health & Diseases, School of Medicine Disease-endemic Countries, Susceptibility to Infections jxk14@case.edu
Goldberg, Michael Design & Innovation, School of Management Entrepreneurship in International Markets michael.goldberg@case.edu
Marling, William English Globalization, World Literature, Film Noir, Translation william.marling@case.edu
Sheeler, James English Journalism james.sheeler@case.edu
Salata, Robert Epidemiology and International Health, School of Medicine HIV Medicine robert.salata@uhhospitals.org
McCall, Peter Geology, Environmental Studies Environmental Law peter.mccall@case.edu
Shulman, Peter History American Foreign Relations History peter.shulman@case.edu
Kruse, Nathan Music Music Education, Ethnographic Traditions of Community Music nathan.kruse@case.edu
Wu, Qi Operations, School of Management Globalization and Supply and Demand qxw132@case.edu
Case, Susan Organizational Behavior, School of Management Global Organizational Inclusion of Diverse Employees susan.case@case.edu
Cooperrider, David Organizational Behavior, School of Management Global Business david.cooperrider@case.edu
Grimberg, Brian Pathology, School of Medicine Malaria Biology, Drug Resistance, Drug Discovery brian.grimberg@case.edu
King, Christopher Pathology, School of Medicine Malaria, Vaccine Development christopher.king@case.edu
King, Charles Pathology, School of Medicine Schistosomiasis, Ecologic Factors in Disease Transmission chk@cwru.edu
Zimmerman, Peter Pathology, Population and Quantitative Health Sciences, Genetics and Genome Sciences, School of Medicine Malaria, HIV, Immunogenetics paz@case.edu
Bendik-Keymer, Jeremy Philosophy Ethics, Environment, Human Rights, Education jeremy.bendik-keymer@case.edu
Kim, Chin-Tai Philosophy Religion, Ethics chin-tai.kim@case.edu
French, Shannon Philosophy Ethics shannon.french@case.edu
Parris, Girma Political Science Race and Immigration in Education, Comparative Immigrant Integration girma.parris@case.edu
Posner, Elliot Political Science Governance of International Markets, International Cooperation, International Institutions, Financial Regulation eap26@case.edu
Tisch, Daniel Population and Quantitative Health Sciences, School of Medicine Epidemiology, Lymphatic Filariasis, Malaria daniel.tisch@case.edu
Neulander, Judith Religious Studies Religion, Arts, and Related Science through a Folkloristic Lens judith.neulander@case.edu
Edguer, Marjorie School of Applied Social Sciences Immigrant Children, Trauma and Loss marjorie.edguer@case.edu
Groza, Victor School of Applied Social Sciences International Adoption victor.groza@case.edu
Colares, Juscelino School of Law Global Business Law, International Environmental Law colares@case.edu
Cover, Avidan School of Law Global Security Law and Policy avidan.cover@case.edu
Gerhart, Peter School of Law International Economic Law, Globalization, Trade Regulation peter.gerhart@case.edu
Gordon, Jonathan School of Law Global Legal Skills Education jonathan.gordon@case.edu
Gordon, Richard School of Law International Taxation and Law, International Monetary Fund, Sovereign Debt Defaults, Anti-Money Laundering, Terrorism Financing richard.gordon@case.edu
Nance, Dale School of Law Private International Law dale.nance@case.edu
Robertson, Cassandra School of Law Legal Ethics, Litigation Procedure cassandra.robertson@case.edu
Scharf, Michael School of Law International Law, International Criminal Law, Law of International Organizations, War Crimes, National Security Law michael.scharf@case.edu
Strassfeld, Robert School of Law Labor Law, Legal History robert.strassfeld@case.edu
Dannefer, Dale Sociology Effects of Globalization on Life Course Patterns dale.dannefer@case.edu
Gran, Brian Sociology; School of Law Human Rights, Law, Social Policy brian.gran@case.edu
McKee Hurwitz, Heather Sociology Gender, Social Movements, Globalization, Culture, Inequalities, Social Media heather.mckeehurwitz@case.edu