Peter Whiting, Interim Dean

About the Interim Dean

 

peter.whiting@case.edu
216.368.2635

Elhoussain Baghach, IT Technician

  • Support technological needs of faculty, staff and students of the college
  • Ensure smooth and efficient IT operations that enhance the academic environment
  • Liaison between the college and UTech

elhoussain.baghach@case.edu

Ruba Al-Wakeal, Development and External Relations Coordinator

 

ruba.al-wakeal@case.edu
216.368.0100

Madeline Baker, Assistant Director of Donor Engagement and Alumni Relations

  • Initiate and manage customized stewardship strategies for a portfolio of donors
  • Collaborate with scholarship, fellowship, graduate assistantship and professorship recipients and other internal partners to create creative gratitude and impact stories
  • Manage and steward College of Arts and Sciences donor recognition societies
  • Provide support and assist in the planning for events such as homecoming, donor engagement and recognition programs throughout the year

madeline.baker2@case.edu
216.368.4415

Rebecca Benard, Associate Dean for Curriculum and Special Projects

  • Curriculum: Unified General Education Requirements (UGER) and dean’s representative for the college’s Committee on Educational Programs and the Faculty Senate Committee on Undergraduate Education, new programs and Dean’s Approved Majors
  • College of Arts and Sciences accreditation: Undergraduate learning outcomes assessment, external program reviews (Ohio Department of Higher Education and Higher Learning Commission
  • Special projects: Construction of biology teaching lab

rebecca.benard@case.edu
216.368.8585

Joy Bostic, Associate Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusive Engagement

  • Manage initiatives, policies and programs designed to increase diversity and foster inclusion
  • Manage diversity, equity and inclusive engagement, and social justice initiatives that interface with the Provost’s Office and the North Star Strategic Plan
  • Liaison to OIDEO and the Office of Equity
  • DEI training and best practices for faculty hiring, recruitment and retention
  • Co-PI, Humanities in Leadership Learning Series, HILLS

joy.bostic@case.edu
216.368.8794

Wendy Brace, Director of Facilities Management

 

wendy.brace@case.edu
216.368.0138

Carlos E. Crespo-Hernández, Associate Dean for Research

  • Facilitate the advancement of research, scholarly works and creative endeavors across the college, including growing external funding levels
  • Manage research administration and grant matches (Contact  Jacquie Johnson first for initial grant preparation needs)
  • Manage Expanding Horizons Initiative and W. P. Jones Presidential Faculty Development Programs (Contact Jacquie Johnson first for initial inquiries about these programs)

carlos.crespo@case.edu
216.368.2014

Emily Curto, Manager of Special Events

  • Develop, organize and execute special programs and events to support the goals of the Office of the Dean
  • Offer event planning consultation services to CAS admin, faculty, staff and students to support their activities
  • Provide support to the Cleveland Humanities Collaborative

emily.curto@case.edu
216.368.6987

Arthur Evenchik smiles for the camera

Arthur Evenchik, Assistant to the Dean for Special Projects

  • Contribute to the college’s communications efforts as a writer and editor
  • Coordinator, Emerging Scholars Program, which provides academic support and intensive advising to undergraduates who come to the university from Cleveland-area high schools
  • Writing coach for IMPACT, a mentoring program for underrepresented students in the Communication Sciences Program

arthur.evenchik@case.edu
216.368.0430

Dan Farst, Manager, Client Applications

  • Manages the [U]Tech Client Applications Team
  • Systems Administrator for the college’s servers and cloud resources
  • IT Security for college servers, cloud resources, endpoint devices and IT systems

daniel.farst@case.edu
216.368.2375

Daniel Fields, Development Manager

 

daniel.fields@case.edu
216.368.0096

Kelly Fried, Executive Aide to the Dean

 

kelly.fried@case.edu
216.368.5633

Daniel Goldmark, Associate Dean for Interdisciplinary Initiatives and International Affairs

  • Manages the many diverse relationships the college has with external partners
  • Works with the various Centers in the college, such as the Baker-Nord Center for the Humanities and the Gelfand STEM Center.
  • Director of the Center for Popular Music Studies

daniel.goldmark@case.edu
216.368.2526

Dave Hintz, Internal Communications Manager

  • Promote the stories and successes of the college both within the college, through art/sci update and the college’s social media channels, and university wide.
  • Manage all internal communications in the Dean’s Office.
  • Liaise between University Marketing and Communications (UMC) and the college.

david.hintz@case.edu
216.368.5444

Janean Hite, Assistant Director of Budget and Financial Planning

  • Annual budget, quarterly and monthly forecasts, and three year planning 
  • Financial guidance to the college and approve financial transactions
  • Ensure university and college financial procedures and practices are being followed
  • Assist administrators to navigate and understand financials and universities policy on purchasing

janean.hite@case.edu
216.368.3843

Dee Dee Holmes, Finance Coordinator

  • Assistant to director & assistant director
  • Reconcile monthly expenses for CAS accounts 
  • Process all reimbursements for CAS departments

dolores.holmes@case.edu
216.368.4842

Beatriz Ibañez, Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives, Finance and Administration

  • Serves as chief financial and operations officer for the college
  • Manages the college’s strategic planning, benchmarking, financial planning, reporting, forecasting and operations for facilities and space management

beatriz.ibanez-alvarez@case.edu
216.368.2213

Jacqueline Johnson, Assistant Dean, Research Administration and Grant Development

  • Manage the day-to-day operations of the college’s research and grant development office
  • Facilitate the advancement of research, scholarly works and creative endeavors, including growing funding levels across the college
  • Supervise the college’s research office

jacqueline.johnson@case.edu
216.368.6675

Owen Klingenberg, Office Coordinator

  • Provide direct administrative support to the Associate Deans
  • Collaborate with program staff on administrative tasks such as event planning and outreach
  • Maintain office environment and manage inventory and equipment upkeep

owen.klingenberg@case.edu
216.368.4413

John McCreery, Director of Special Gifts

 

john.mccreery2@case.edu
216.368.5006

JD Phillips, Assistant Director of Facilities Management

 

joseph.phillips3@case.edu
216.368.6726

Gianni Quartell, Manager of Faculty Affairs

 

gianfrancesco.quartell@case.edu
216.368.3826

Tara Schmitt, Senior Director, Donor Engagement and Alumni Relations

 

tara.schmitt@case.edu
216.368.6913

Tayrn Smith, Director of Budget and Financial Planning

 

tayrn.smith@case.edu
216.368.8936

Karen Tausher, Director of Information Technology

  • Strategic vision and priorities for technology
  • Liaison between the College and UTech for development improvement in all technology related areas
  • Suggest and manage technology to enhance classrooms, meeting spaces, and performance venues
  • IT support, server administration, web site management

karen.tausher@case.edu
216.368.2511

Robert Utrup, Director of Faculty Affairs and Academic Administration

 

robert.utrup@case.edu
216.368.4437

Lynne Valencic, Grants Specialist

  • SPARTA funding proposals: budgets for accuracy and completeness
  • SPARTA funding proposals: humanities and arts
  • Effort certification

lynne.valencic@case.edu
216.368.4527

Melissa Van, Director of Organizational Development and Human Resources

 

melissa.van@case.edu
216.368.3865

Marie Vibbert, Web Services Manager

  • Maintains the college’s websites
  • Provides custom software solutions for departments
  • Provides higher-tier software support

marie.vibbert@case.edu
216.368.3865

Open, Professor and Associate Dean

  • Director of SAGES (contact Erika Olbricht, interim director of SAGES)
  • Coordinates admission activities and correspondence for the college (contact Daniel Goldmark, associate dean)
  • Represents the college on learning outcomes and accreditation committees (contact Rebecca Benard, associate dean)
  • Reviews FT and PT lecturer appointment paperwork (contact Robert Utrup)
  • Monitor enrollments in college courses (contact Emily Curto)

casdean@case.edu
216.368.4413

Paul Wolansky, Associate Dean of Development and External Relations

 

paul.wolansky@case.edu
216.368.5322

Open, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Please direct any requests for support or questions to the dean’s office

  • Manage development, advancement, new faculty orientation, promotion and tenure and sabbaticals
  • Support department chairs, including professional development and new chair orientation
  • ODHE-HLC external reviews of departmental programs
  • Liaison for Faculty Development Committee, co-director of Post-baccalaureate Readiness for BioMedical Education (PRIME), and consensual relationship policy

casdean@case.edu
216.368.4413